Honorary Members

The bylaws of the Palo Alto Golf Club provide that:
  • Honorary members shall be members upon whom honorary membership shall have been conferred by unanimous vote at any meeting of the Board of Directors, such member having made a particular contribution to the Club or the game of golf. Dues for such members shall be waived.
  • All members of the Professional Golf Staff at the club are considered Honorary Members and the club maintains their membership in the NCGA.
In addition, certain club members have been so honored, and their names are listed below:
Craig Allen - A PAGC member since 1971, Craig has served on the Board off and on for almost 20 of those years and has been the club's 'Rules Guy' during that time. He created the club's web site in 1999 and also helped update the club's bylaws when it was clear that they did not reflect the many ways that the club had evolved.  He also wrote the club's Local Rules and has volunteered as an NCGA tournament official since 1998.
Stan Whitten - As a Director and, for 13 years, as the Assistant Treasurer and Assistant Membership Chairman, Stan kept the club organized and solvent.  His long experience in the club has helped keep our traditions alive.
Ray Witt - In his many years of service to the club as a Director and President, Ray has represented us well.  His service on the USGA's Public Golf Committee has given our club national recognition.
Grant Spaeth - Probably our best known member, Grant has long been a supporter of Public Golf, and, as past president of the USGA, he has done much to further that cause.
Paul Dias - First as Golf Superintendent and now as the head of the City of Palo Alto's Parks and Golf Division, Paul has worked long and hard to create the course we play on.  Things move slowly in our City's bureaucracy, but without Paul's work, they would not have moved at all.
Last Updated on 1/1/2015